New and recent titles

NEW: The Windbreak Pine
by Wally Swist
‘Quietly elegant, meditative, and intelligent.’
— Adele Kenny

The Lammas Lands
by Matthew Paul
‘Haiku in all its stunning potency.’
— Roberta Beary

Gathering Dusk
by Ellen Compton
‘The haiku aesthetic at its best.’
— Dietmar Tauchner

The Bone Carver
by Ron C. Moss
‘Ron Moss is a bright star in the Southern Cross of English-language haiku.’ — John Stevenson

Alone on a Wild Coast
by Renée Owen
‘An articulate and resonant guide to the heart’s transcendent moments.’
— John Thompson

A landmark work in English-language haiku, with unprecedented scope and focus, Where the River Goes details and celebrates the evolution of the nature tradition of haiku over an active period of fifty years. Edited by Allan Burns.

Back to Top

Publishing opportunities

Snapshot Press sponsors two international annual awards for unpublished collections of short poetry (including haiku, tanka, and haibun): The Snapshot Press Book Awards and The Snapshot Press eChapbook Awards. Award winners have their collections published by Snapshot Press.

We also invite haiku entries for our annual Haiku Calendar.

Submissions are now closed for the first tradition-spanning anthology of one-line haiku in English. Work on this extensive anthology is ongoing and notifications of work selected for inclusion will be sent to poets as soon as the text is finalized.

Back to Top

Contest deadlines

The deadline for The Snapshot Press eChapbook Awards 2017 is July 31, 2017.

The deadline for The Haiku Calendar Competition 2018 (for work to be considered for the 2019 calendar) is January 31, 2018. Entries may be sent by email as well as by post. Please see the entry guidelines for details.

The deadline for The Snapshot Press Book Awards 2018 is March 1, 2018.

Back to Top

Contest results

The results of The Haiku Calendar Competition 2017 have been announced. Please see the results page for these and previous results.

The 2016 winners of the Snapshot Press eChapbook Awards are Simon Hanson and Karina M. Young.

The results of The Snapshot Press Book Awards 2016 have been announced. Please see the results page for these and previous results.

Back to Top

Forthcoming titles

Our forthcoming titles include books by Thomas Powell, Billie Wilson, Stuart Quine, Chuck Brickley, Matt Morden, and Robert Gilliland; eChapbooks by Allan Burns, Thomas Powell, Susan Constable, Cherie Hunter Day, Kala Ramesh, Roger Jones, Margaret Chula, Cynthia Rowe, Frances Angela, Simon Chard, Rich Youmans, Simon Hanson, and Karina M. Young; and an anthology celebrating the best of the eChapbook Awards to date.

Back to Top